She has read too many books and they have addled her brain…

Az’s CBR-III Review #5: Crystal Clear by Jane Heller

I resisted reading Jane Heller for the longest time. I had been told by several people that I’d love her books but could never get into them. Last week at the library I came across her newish book called Crystal Clear and decided to give Ms. Heller another shot. Crystal is an accountant in NYC with a lackluster life that revolves around her job. When a trio of crises – including the possibility of being fired – hits her, she decides to go to Sedona, AZ for a “mystical” vacation. There she encounters her long-gone ex-husband, gets into mischief with a mystery involving a vapid heiress and her hangers-on and finally experiences the epiphany necessary to turn her life around. The key to this is, of course, the long-lost ex. I didn’t hate his book but I didn’t love it either. I thought it was a serviceable plot that followed a time-honored formula. It wasn’t highly literate or intellectual, but I didn’t expect it to be. It kept me entertained for the hour or so that it took me to read it and honestly, that’s all I was after.

Leave a Reply

